Trevecca Announces 2022-2023 Student Academic Awards

| Awards

Students pose with their awards at Trevecca's 2023 academic awards ceremony.

The faculty and staff at Trevecca recently announced the recipients of this year’s student awards, including awards that encompass all schools, academic awards within various schools and departments and inductions for academic honor societies.

The following are the school’s award recipients for the 2022-2023 academic year.

Academic Awards

Skinner School of Business
Marketing Excellence Award – Sabrina Hedges
Institute of Internal Auditors’ Outstanding Accounting Graduate – Matthew Jeffe
Financial Executive International Outstanding Student Scholarship Award – David Gamez
Outstanding Music Business Graduate – Ian Wright
Excellence in Sport Management – Kendyl McCoy
Department of Business Phi Delta Lambda Award – Grace Santos Espinoza
Gerald D. Skinner Senior Award – Giselle Jerezano
Top Gun Award – David Gamez

Department of Communication Studies 
Creative Artistic Achievement Award – Julia Durham 
Performer of the Year – Julianne Twining & Clara Eck 
Excellence in Film & Television Award – Carter Adams
Outstanding Journalism Leadership Award – Grace Beckner
Phi Delta Lambda Award – Abigail Allen

School of Education 
Outstanding Student  Teacher:
Fall 2022 – Alex McFarland & Emerald Frost
Spring 2023 – Ellie Buffler & Clarice Cox
Leadership in Education Award – Riley Stetler & Trinity Allen
Service in Education – Benise Duhart & Gracie Kirby
Future in Education – Makena Jackson & Keeley Carter
Projects Demonstrating Excellence – Clarice Cox & Noah Diehl
Phi Delta Lambda Award – Emerald Frost

Department of English 
English Major Award – Nancy Ramirez
Phi Delta Lambda Award – Micah Zimmerman
Best Scholarly Paper Award – Micah Zimmerman

Department of Science, Engineering and Math 
Chemistry Award – Karris Anastasio
Physics Award – Tyler Roy
Electrical and Computer Engineering Award – Carlos Velasquez
Phi Delta Lambda Award – Tracy Roy

Department of Biology 
Biology Award – Alex Webster
Phi Delta Lambda Award – Nicholas Dikhtyar

Department of Nursing 
Nursing Award – Joshua Tanner Whited
Phi Delta Lambda Award – Sara June Gruber

Department of Exercise Science 
Excellence in Exercise Science Award – Kelsey Havican
Phi Delta Lambda Award – Megan Walker

Department of Technology and Design 
Excellence in Design and Multimedia Award – Adonia M. Rodriguez Madrid
Excellence in Computer and Information Systems Award – Tsion G. Tesfaye

Waggoner Library 
Outstanding Student Assistant Award – Grace Beckner

Center for Student Development 
Tutor of the Year Award – Sierra Jones

Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences 
Psychology Research Award – Alayna Johnson
Future Counselor Award – Christian Bowlin
Criminal Justice Students of the Year – Hanah Sims, Valerie Garcia, and Kayla Barnhart
History Award – Abigail Adu
BSW Excellence Award – Ariadne Alatorre
BSW Excellence in Practice Award – Kate Barker
Phi Delta Lambda Award – Abigail Adu (History) and Lydia Burton (Social Work)

Department of Music 
Phi Delta Lambda Award – Katherine Duncklee

Department of Worship Arts 
Phi Delta Lambda Award – Baylee Woody

School of Music and Worship Arts (SOMWA)
Female SOMWA Student of the Year – Selah Torralba
Male SOMWA Student of the Year – Tyler Briggs

Millard Reed School of Theology and Christian Ministry 
Theological Studies Award – Anna Fitzgerald
William Strickland Church History Award – Destiny Arnold
Senior Servant Award – Emily MacAdam
Biblical Hebrew Award – Jordan Disario
Biblical Greek Award – Grayson Greenwood
Intercultural Studies Award – Grace Beckner
School of Theology & Christian Ministry Phi Delta Lambda Award – Anna Fitzgerald
NTS Scholarship – Lauren Miller
Social Justice Outstanding Senior Award – Fatima Vargas
Social Justice Phi Delta Lambda Award – David Sut
Dr. Wilma D. Johnson Servant Leadership Scholarship & Award – Maya Smith

Phi Delta Lambda

Phi Delta Lambda is the international honor society of the colleges and universities of the Church of the Nazarene. Membership in the Zeta Chapter of Phi Delta Lambda is the highest academic honor bestowed by Trevecca Nazarene University.

Abigail Allen
Sommer Bright
Nicholas Dikhtyar
David Gamez Fuentes
Lena Gurley
Sabrina Hedges
Giselle Jerezano
Robert Johnston II
Cesar Marini Chavez
Catherine McLachlan
Julia Mowry
Tristen Peters
Israel Roseno deSousa
Tracy Roy
Boone Russell
Roland Ryan
Grace Santos Espinoza
Hanah Sims
Mark Tibbits
Dorothy Varnadore
Evelyn Waheeb
Megan Walker
Logan West
Lindsey White
Alexa Wilson
Ian Wright
Micah Zimmerman